Courses

Forum home -> General chat -> View topic

Posted
Rating:
#180 (In Topic #31)
Standard member

In College/University

Hello, this is my first time here. Not new to your channel, but I took a look at the trailer nonetheless, and you mentioned a 'robotics' competition there. Which got me thinking, although I have a good 4 years left until I go to Uni (or college in the US), what courses I want to do in the future.
I would like to know what courses you picked?
I guess I want to do robotics, programming robots and machines sounds quite fun. So for the undergraduate degree, I'm thinkning to do Computer Science and Mathematics, but I'm not sure whether to choose that or Computer Science and Engineering. As for postgraduade, well I'm thinking of doing a master's (that can be done as undergraduate so I might go for that) and pHd. So, should I go for a Robotics post-graduate and go back to a Computer Science pHd? I'm not so sure. I generally like everything about computers, lol. Although I should note as a slight digression, I spent hours trying to install Arch Linux but gave up, there were just too many errors when it came to installing the bootloader, that I installed Kubuntu today (and I'm loving it!)

Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
NOTS Staff
Hello there!

So first, to talk a little about the robotics competition you saw in the trailer, that was a high school robotics competition called the FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC for short.) I made a big video about it here. If you've still got a few years before you go to college, I would highly recommend checking whether there are any FRC teams you could join in your area. It's a great way to try your hand at lots of different technical fields. FIRST is based in the US, but there are some teams in other countries as well.