NextCloud

Forum home -> Tech Talk -> View topic

Posted
Rating:
#287 (In Topic #56)
Standard member

Questions about nextcloud setup

I was following the NOTS tutorial for setting up NextCloud 15 on Ubuntu 18.04 server, but I was trying to do this on my own server as opposed to a VPS like Jacob did with Digital Ocean.

I came across a problem when trying to get Let's Encrypt for my server because I only had the private IP address of my PC, which I have now learned one cannot get SSL/TLS certificates for (I'm fairly new to the server world).

I'd like to set up my own server at a known location to run NextCloud, and then access it over the internet from other locations. Is this possible? I noticed from this page on Datamation that they only include the VPS, or LAN as options for NextCloud: https://www.datamation.com/open-source/how-to-setup-your-own-cloud-server-with-nextcloud.html. That made me think it had to either be at a home network only, or through a VPS.

Is it possible to set up my own web server for which I can then use Let's Encrypt, and have NextCloud running at my known physical location and accessible over the internet? I'm still researching this online, but have been coming up short.

Thanks in advance.
Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Standard member
For more detail, the error I received was right after editing the 000-default.conf file to include the server name. Running "certbot –apache", while asking if I'd like to activate HTTPS for the name I used, wound up resulting in an failure after "Cleaning up challenges" stating "The server could not resolve a domain name :: No valid IP addresses found for mydomain.com".

This led me to the following: https://community.letsencrypt.org/t/no-valid-ip-addresses-found-for-my-domain/57417

Which I then figured the issue was because I was using my private IP address instead of a public one from a web server.

Posted
Rating:
Standard member